Latest News

Zane Duquemin and Amelia Strickler discuss the preparation process before the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games

Shot Putt stars Zane Duquemin and Amelia Strickler have highlighted the problems during the preparation process before the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Duquemin will represent Team Jersey in the second city. The 30-year-old has had problems during the preparation process due to injury issues.

He said: “My preparations have been challenging because I had a serious back injury in June 2020. I lost all the feeling below the knee in my right leg.”

Zane Duquemin will represent Team Jersey at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games

“It was a long road back. It did not look like I would be able to compete again. However, I am grateful that my body has decided to give me another chance to compete at a high level.

“I knew it would be a race against time to get back to full fitness. I’m glad I was able to get back and compete during the qualification period and produce some solid performances.”

The 30-year-old has participated in three consecutive Commonwealth Games and he was delighted after he was selected to represent Team Jersey.

He said: “It is a great honour to represent Team Jersey. This will be my 4th Commonwealth Games and maybe my last.

“The ability to represent the little island at the Commonwealth Games is huge. The Great Britain vest is special. However, I’m looking forward to put the Jersey vest on and put a good performance together.”

Meanwhile, Strickler will represent Team England in the second city. The 27-year-old has had problems during the preparation process due to the pandemic.

She said: “It has been challenging. I turned my living room into a gym during lockdown and it’s still there. It has been really helpful because I have not lost my strength.

“However, throwing has been difficult. During lockdown I was throwing in a park without a toe board which caused some issues with my achilles. I also couldn’t visit my coach which was really hard because it’s much better training with him.”

Although preparation has been difficult, Duquemin and Strickler will look to write the name in the history books at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Leave a comment…

1 thought on “Zane Duquemin and Amelia Strickler discuss the preparation process before the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games”

  1. Very professional and informative I had not heard of these athletes before but I know something about them now. Straight to the point with no waffle. Well done young man.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment